corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Holy Days of Obligation

Resource Toolbox

Feasts with the obligation to hear Mass and rest as far as possible from servile work. There are ten such feasts for the universal Church, though certain countries are exempt from the observance of some of these:

  • All Saints
  • Ascension
  • Assumption
  • Christmas
  • Corpus Christi
  • Epiphany
  • Immaculate Conception
  • New Year's Day
  • Saint Joseph
  • Saints Peter and Paul

Suppressed feasts are not to be restored without permission of the Holy See. Thus in the United States, Epiphany, Corpus Christi, Saint Joseph, and Saints Peter and Paul, in England the feasts of Saint Joseph and the Immaculate Conception, in Ireland the feast of Saint Joseph, and in Australia the feasts of the Epiphany, Corpus Christi, Saint Joseph, Saints Peter and Paul, and the Immaculate Conception are not observed. Saint Patrick's is a holy day in Ireland. In the course of centuries feasts of precept increased, so that more than a hundred were observed in some countries. Urban VIII in 1642 decreed the observance of 36. On all these, whether now observed or suppressed, pastors must apply Mass for their parishioners.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Holy Days of Obligation'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Lectionary Calendar
Saturday, December 5th, 2020
the First Week of Advent
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology