corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Third Council of Constantinople

Resource Toolbox
Additional Links

All four were held in the capital of the former Byzantine Empire; all were Æcumenical. The principal acts of these Councils were disciplinary and dogmatic.

The First Council of Constantinople, 381, condemned Arianism, Macedonianism, and kindred heresies. It formally approved of the Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed.

The Second Council of Constantinople, 553, anathematized the "Three Chapters," and issued dogmatic condemnations against Arius, Nestorius, and other heretics.

The Third Council of Constantinople, 618, defined the Church's doctrine on the two wills (human and Divine) in Christ, at the same time anathematizing the opposite (Monothelitic) heresy.

The Fourth Council of Constantinople, 869, condemned Photius and the acts of the false Photian councils

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Third Council of Constantinople'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Lectionary Calendar
Friday, November 15th, 2019
the Week of Proper 27 / Ordinary 32
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

Prev Entry
Thief, Penitent
Next Entry
Third Crusade
To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology