corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Eastern Churches

Resource Toolbox
Additional Links

All ancient churches which were originally under the jurisdiction of one of the four great Eastern patriarchates of Alexandria, Antioch, Constantinople, and Jerusalem. They comprise numerous bodies in eastern Europe and Asia and a few divisions, the result of immigration, in America, Africa, and other parts of the world. They are divided into Uniats of which there are nine groups, all united to Rome, and non-Uniats consisting of eight groups of churches which have long been separated from Rome as a result of the Eastern schisms and heresies.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Eastern Churches'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Lectionary Calendar
Friday, February 21st, 2020
the Sixth Week after Epiphany
There are 51 days til Easter!
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology