corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Wewak, Papua New Guinea, Diocese of

Resource Toolbox

The western part of the Mandated Territory of New Guinea mainland and adjacent islands, was established as the Prefecture Apostolic of West Kaiserwilhelmsland, by the division of the Prefecture Apostolic of Kaiserwilhelmsland on July 25, 1913. Name was changed to the Prefecture Apostolic of Central New Guinea on November 14, 1922; entrusted to the Missionaries of the Society of the Divine Word. Elevated to the Vicariate Apostolic of Central New Guinea on August 22, 1931. Name changed to the Vicariate Apostolic of Wewak on May 15, 1952. Elevated to the diocese of Wewak on November 15, 1966. See also:

  • Catholic-Hierarchy.Org

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Wewak, Papua New Guinea, Diocese of'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Lectionary Calendar
Sunday, February 16th, 2020
the Sixth Sunday after Epiphany
There are 56 days til Easter!
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology