Tired of see ads while studying? Now you can enjoy an "Ads Free" version of the site for as little as 10¢ a day.

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Institute of the Holy Family

Founded in 1820 by the Abbe Pierre Noailles at Bordeaux under the name of Sisters of Loreto. The Institute consists of different congregations, each with its distinctive work, garb, and particular rules, but all under a common constitution and directed by the Superior General of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, assisted by a Directress General. The seven distinct branches of the association are:

  1. Sisters of the Holy Family proper, or Solitary Sisters, devoted to contemplation
  2. Sisters of Saint Joseph, in charge of orphanages
  3. Sisters of Loreto, conducting private day schools and boarding schools
  4. Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, educational and nursing
  5. Sisters of Hope, care of the sick
  6. Field Sisters, maintaining agricultural orphanages
  7. Sisters of Saint Martha, the lay sisters of the above congregations

The Institute has over 200 houses, in France, England, Italy, Spain, Ceylon, India, South Africa, Canada, the United States, and South America. The mother-house is at Bordeaux.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Institute of the Holy Family'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box below:
Choose a letter to browse: