corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Canons Regular of Saint Augustine

Resource Toolbox

Canons Regular of Saint Augustine are divided into two congregations: the Congregation of Saint Augustine, Saint Bernard, and Saint Nicholas, and that of the Abbey Nullius of Agaunum. The former, established by Saint Bernard of Menthon, c.1004,is in charge of the hospices of Great Saint Bernard and Simplon. An agricultural school, a tuberculosis sanatorium, and parochial duties also engage the canons. Since the 12th century the Abbey Nullius of Saint Maurice of Agaunum, the oldest monastery in the world, has been under the care of the canons regular, who engage in teaching and parochial duties. See also canons and canoesses regular.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Canons Regular of Saint Augustine'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Lectionary Calendar
Thursday, November 26th, 2020
the Week of Christ the King / Proper 29 / Ordinary 34
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology