Bible Commentaries
Joshua 20

Gaebelein's Annotated BibleGaebelein's Annotated

Verses 1-9

7. The Cities of Refuge


1. The ordinance repeated (Joshua 20:1-6 )

2. The cities named (Joshua 20:7-9 )

The reader will find the meaning of the ordinance of the cities of refuge in Numbers and Deuteronomy, so that we do not need to repeat it here. But only three cities are mentioned in the Pentateuch. Here the three cities in the land are added. Kedesh was in Naphtah, Kedesh means “sanctuary,” and Naphtali means “wrestler-struggler.” Christ is the refuge for the struggling sinner. Shechem means “shoulder,” and is the type of service. He who is the perfect servant, who ministered and gave His life, is the place of refuge. Kirjath-arba, which is Hebron, is the third, and Hebron means “communion.” This we find in Him. Bezer (defense), Ramoth (heights) and Golan (rejoicing) were the other three beyond Jordan, named already in the Pentateuch.

Bibliographical Information
Gaebelein, Arno Clemens. "Commentary on Joshua 20". "Gaebelein's Annotated Bible". 1913-1922.