Bible Dictionaries

The American Church Dictionary and Cycopedia

Virtues, the Cardinal

Additional Links

The four virtues, namely, Prudence, Justice, Temperance and Fortitude, which Solomon sets forth in the Book of Wisdom, VIII, 7, are called Cardinal Virtues because they are most important in the Christian Life. They may be briefly defined as follows:

PRUDENCE, choosing the right and knowing what means to employ for accomplishing it.

JUSTICE, rendering to all their dues.

TEMPERENCE, the virtue of self-control in all things.

FORTITUDE, bravery in doing God's Will.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
Miller, William James. Entry for 'Virtues, the Cardinal'. The American Church Dictionary and Cyclopedia. 1901.

Search for…
Enter query in the box below:
Choose a letter to browse: