If you haven't seen it already, I would recommend "The Chosen"! The first episode of Season 2 can be viewed by clicking here!

Bible Dictionaries

Charles Buck Theological Dictionary

Orders, Religious

Additional Links

Are congregations or societies of monasteries living under the same superior, in the same manner, and wearing the same habit. Religious orders may be reduced to five kinds, viz. monks, canons, knights, mendicants, and regular clerks. White order denotes the order of regular canons, of St. Augustine. Black order denotes the order of St. Benedict. Orders religious military are those instituted to defense of the faith, and privileged to say mass, and who are prohibited marriage, &c. Of this kind are the knights of Malta, or of St. John of Jerusalem. Such also were the knights templars, the knights of Calatrave, of St. Lazarus, Teutonic knights, &c.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Buck, Charles. Entry for 'Orders, Religious'. Charles Buck Theological Dictionary. 1802.

Search for…
Enter query in the box below:
Choose a letter to browse:
Prev Entry