Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Israel, Kingdom of

Additional Links

Formed by the ten tribes which seceded from Roboam, the son of Solomon (c.929 BC). Its history is one continuous warfare. Internal disturbances were frequent; Juda and Syria were a constant menace; finally Assyria invaded the kingdom and destroyed it, after capturing the capital Samaria, B.C. 722 (4Kings 17). It is sometimes called the Kingdom of Ephraim or the Northern Kingdom. List of kings: Jeroboam, Nadab, Baasa, Ela, Zambri, Amri, Achab, Ochozias, Joram, Jehu, Joachaz, Joas, Jeroboam II, Zacharias, Sellum, Manahem, Phaceia, Phacee, Osee.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Israel, Kingdom of'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box below:
Choose a letter to browse:
Prev Entry
Next Entry