Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Feasts O

  • Friday in Passion Week, commemorating the sorrow of Mary during the Passion , and Death of Christ; instituted by the provincial synod of Cologne in 1413 to expiate the crimes of the iconoclast Hussites, being termed the Compassion or Transfixion; extended to the entire Church by Pope Benedict XIII in 1727. The Stabat Mater is sung during Mass and Office.
  • September 15, in devotion to the seven dolors of Mary:
  • the prophecy of Simeon
  • flight into Egypt
  • loss of the Child Jesus at Jerusalem
  • meeting Jesus on the road to Calvary
  • standing at the foot of the Cross
  • the descent of Jesus from the Cross
  • His burial

It was first granted to the Servites in 1668, and extended to the whole Church by Pope Pius VII in 1814.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Feasts O'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box below:
Choose a letter to browse: