corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Encyclopedias

1911 Encyclopedia Britannica

Seven Champions of Christendom

Resource Toolbox
Additional Links

The name given in medieval tales to the seven national saints - of England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, France, Spain and Italy - i.e. Saints George, Andrew,`.. Patrick, David, Denis, James and Anthony. The classical version of their achievements is that of Richard Johnson (1 573 - c. 1659), Famous Historie of the Seaven Champions of Christendom (3 parts, 1596, 1608, 1610: many editions). The oldest known copy is dated 1597; there is also a poetical version by Sir George Buc (published 1623).

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
Chisholm, Hugh, General Editor. Entry for 'Seven Champions of Christendom'. 1911 Encyclopedia Britanica. 1910.

Lectionary Calendar
Sunday, December 8th, 2019
the Second Week of Advent
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

Prev Entry
Next Entry
Seven Days' Battle
To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology