Bible Encyclopedias

1911 Encyclopedia Britannica

Seven Champions of Christendom

Additional Links

The name given in medieval tales to the seven national saints - of England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, France, Spain and Italy - i.e. Saints George, Andrew,`.. Patrick, David, Denis, James and Anthony. The classical version of their achievements is that of Richard Johnson (1 573 - c. 1659), Famous Historie of the Seaven Champions of Christendom (3 parts, 1596, 1608, 1610: many editions). The oldest known copy is dated 1597; there is also a poetical version by Sir George Buc (published 1623).

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
Chisholm, Hugh, General Editor. Entry for 'Seven Champions of Christendom'. 1911 Encyclopedia Britanica. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box below:
Choose a letter to browse:
Prev Entry