Bible Commentaries
Isaiah 66

Gaebelein's Annotated BibleGaebelein's Annotated

Verses 1-24


The Finale: The Two Classes and the Prophecy of Isaiah in a Retrospect

1. The apostates and their wicked worship (Isaiah 66:1-4 ) 2. The remnant suffering and encouraged (Isaiah 66:5 ) 3. The sudden manifestation of the Lord (Isaiah 66:6 ) 4. The nation’s rebirth (Isaiah 66:7-9 ) 5. Jerusalem’s supremacy and glory (Isaiah 66:10-14 ) 6. The warning of judgment (Isaiah 66:15-18 ) 7. The regathering after judgment (Isaiah 66:19-21 ) 8. The blessings for the righteous (Isaiah 66:22-23 ) 9. The destiny of the wicked (Isaiah 66:24 ) This great chapter is the fitting conclusion of the prophecy of Isaiah. The leading predictions contained in Isaiah concerning the future are once more restated. The opening verses have mystified many readers of this book. The apostate part of the Jewish nation, restored in unbelief (a restoration now going on) , erect a temple once more and resume their ancient worship. This worship without faith in Jehovah is an abomination before Him. It were as if they offered swine’s blood. Their coming judgment is announced in Isaiah 66:4 . The pious remnant, the praying remnant is seen once more. They tremble at the Word of the Lord. The unbelievers in their own nation hate them. They are mocked because they expect Jehovah’s intervention from above. “Let the Lord be glorified”--they say in ridicule (Isaiah 66:5 ). Then the coming of the Lord takes place. This is described in the sixth verse. The nation’s rebirth, the supremacy and glory of Jerusalem, additional warnings, the gathering of the people into the kingdom, the blessedness of the righteous and the destiny of Jehovah’s enemies conclude the chapter and the book.

The reader will have noticed that each section of the second part begins with a chapter which is the key and introduction to the section. Each concludes with a description of the two classes which compose the nation in the last days and emphasizes the fact that for the wicked there is no peace, but punishment. Each section reveals a person. The first section reveals Cyrus, under whom the remnant returned from Babylon; the second, the suffering Servant of Jehovah; the third, the King of Glory to execute vengeance and deliver His people. May He give us to see these wonderful things to come. May the vision of the future be the inspiration of our lives.

Bibliographical Information
Gaebelein, Arno Clemens. "Commentary on Isaiah 66". "Gaebelein's Annotated Bible". 1913-1922.