corner graphic   Hi,    
Finding the new version too difficult to understand? Go to

Bible Encyclopedias

Cyclopedia of Biblical, Theological and Ecclesiastical Literature

Sacerdotal Cities,

Resource Toolbox

the thirteen cities set apart by Joshua for the family of Aaron, which lay in the tribes of Judah, Simeon, and Benjamin (Joshua 21:4), and in the vicinity of the holy city. Their names were Hebron (a free city), Libnah, Jattir, Eshtemoa, Holon, Debir, Ain, Juttah, Beth-shemesh, Gibeon, Geba, Anathoth, and Almon; the last four being in the tribe of Benjamin (Joshua 21:10 sq.). After the exile, too, priests dwelt in these cities (Nehemiah 7:73), though many were permanestly settled in Jerusalem itself (Nehemiah 11:10 sq.). (See CITY); (See LEVI); (See PRIEST).

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
McClintock, John. Strong, James. Entry for 'Sacerdotal Cities,'. Cyclopedia of Biblical, Theological and Ecclesiastical Literature. Harper & Brothers. New York. 1870.

Lectionary Calendar
Monday, March 30th, 2020
the Fifth Week of Lent
There are 13 days til Easter!
Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

Prev Entry
Next Entry
Sacerdotal City
To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology